Nobel Winner

The MIT Museum joins with the entire MIT Community to congratulate Rainer Weiss ’55, PhD ’62, professor emeritus of physics at MIT as the Nobel Prize winner in physics for 2017.

Weiss won half of the prize, with the other half of the award shared by Kip S. Thorne, professor emeritus of theoretical physics at Caltech, and Barry C. Barish, professor emeritus of physics at Caltech.

The Nobel Foundation, in its announcement this morning, cited the physicists "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves.”

The MIT Museum is proud have two key pioneering LIGO artifacts in its collections: an early prototype inferometer and the original 1.5 meter prototype of the "Interferometric Broad Band Gravitational Antenna” that became the basis for the design of today’s LIGO instrument.

Please note, this artifact is not currently on-view in the Museum.